Rajkumar Buyya awarded for contribution to cloud computing

June 16 / 183

Professor Rajkumar Buyya from the School of Computing and Information Systems has been awarded the Mahatma Gandhi and Bharat Nirman Awards at the Conference on Economic Growth and National Unity by the Friendship Forum of India.

Growing Green Guide wins Premier's Sustainability Award

November 15 / 170

A free, comprehensive and practical guide to the construction of green walls, roofs and facades, known as the Growing Green Guide for Melbourne, has won the Education category in this year's Premier's Sustainability Awards.

Unlocking epilepsy wins Prime Minister's award

November 14 / 148

Professors Sam Berkovic and Ingrid Scheffer have been awarded the $300,000 2014 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science for their contribution to the study of epilepsy, its diagnosis, management and treatment.

Child Public Health leadership recognised

November 14 / 148

Professor Elizabeth Waters has received the Anne Anderson Award at the 22nd Cochrane Colloquium in Hyderabad, India.

Global health leader wins major award

November 14 / 148

Laureate Professor Alan Lopez, Director of the Global Burden of Disease Group, has received the prestigious Peter Wills Medal at the Research Australia Awards.

Mental health researchers recognised with Tall Poppy Science Awards

October 14 / 147

Dr Andrew Zalensky and Dr Allison Milner have won 2014 Victorian Young Tall Poppy Science Awards for outstanding research and science communication at a ceremony at the Bio21 Institute on 20 October.

Distinguished past professors honoured with University awards

October 14 / 147

The Academic Board has awarded 19 former University academics with the title Professor Emeritus and Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus.

Elizabeth Scarr recognised as one of Australia’s 100 Women of Influence

October 14 / 146

Associate Professor Elizabeth Scarr has been named one of the winners in The Australian Financial Review and Westpac 100 Women of Influence Awards for 2014. 

eScholarship Research Centre wins award for guide to historic Oxford collections

October 14 / 146

Dr Rebe Taylor, Mr Michael Jones and Mr Gavan McCarthy from the University’s eScholarship Research Centre (ESRC) have been awarded a prestigious Mander Jones Award by the Australian Society of Archivists.

Inspiring stories celebrated at the Vice-Chancellor’s Engagement Awards

October 14 / 145

Thirty-three staff and student projects from across the University have been recognised at the Vice-Chancellor’s Engagement Awards in the Grand Buffet Hall on 19 September.

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email