3 Minute Thesis Grand Final winners announced

September 15 / 166

Eamonn Fahey (1st Place)
Eamonn Fahey (1st Place) "Catching the Silent Thief of Sight, Kerryn Moore (2nd Place) "Born too soon" and Rebecca Vandegeer (3rd Place) "Healthy wheat for a growing world".


Graduate student Eamonn Fahy, from the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, has won this year’s University of Melbourne 3MT® competition Grand Final. 


A research communication competition, 3MT® challenges PhD students to present a compelling speech on their thesis topic and its significance in just three minutes. 


The competition welcomes graduate researchers from around the University in order to find the most effective, interesting communicators, but it is also designed to help graduate students develop their academic, presentation and research communication skills, increasing their capacity to reach a broad, general audience.


Eamonn Fahey won first place with "Catching the silent thief of sight”. Mr Fahey has been exploring ways to detect glaucoma earlier, before vision is lost, by studying the electrical function of individual optic nerve cells.


He received the perpetual Professor Peter McPhee Cup, a travel scholarship worth $4500, and will go on to compete in the Trans-Tasman competition, to be held at the University of Queensland in October. Professor McPhee has been a great supporter of the competition since its inception in 2010.


Second place went to Kerryn Moore, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences for "Born too soon”. Ms Moore’s research focuses on the potential of screening and treatment programs to lessen the burden of malaria during pregnancy on mothers and their babies. 


Rebecca Vandegeer, Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, took third place for "Healthy wheat for a growing world”. Ms Vandegeer researches the ways in which plant viruses influence the biochemistry and health of food crops, which may contribute to improving future yields and quality.


The People’s Choice award went to Claire Gorrie, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, for “The next superbug”. Ms Gorrie's research uses genome sequencing to examine the bacterial pathogen, Klebsiella pneumoniae, in an effort to determine the bacterial population in Melbourne and potential risk factors for hospital infections.


The judges were Emeritus Professor Kwong Lee DowSimon ClewsMaxine McKew and Dr Andi Horvath.


Other Grand Final competitors included Jarmon Lees (Faculty of Science), Steven Wibowo (Melbourne School of Engineering), Catherine Wheller (Faculty of Science) and Sam Mills (Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences).


Full details: http://www.cshe.unimelb.edu.au/3MT

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email musse-editor@unimelb.edu.au