Leading University of Melbourne researchers honoured by NHMRC

October 15 / 168


The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) has honoured University of Melbourne researchers behind cutting edge discoveries in cancer, combating malaria, preventing birth defects and treating psychosis.

Minister for Health Sussan Ley presented the annual National Health and Medical Research Council Research Excellence Awards at the NHMRC Council dinner in Canberra last week.

Catherine Chamberlain took out the gong for Rising Star Research Excellence Award, for her work to improve the heart health of Indigenous Australian women during pregnancy and after work.

Associate Professor Mario Alvarez-Jimenez was awarded Highest ranked Career Development Fellowship for his work to provide early intervention for teens experiencing psychosis.

Professor Alan Cowman and his team, from the University’s partner, the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI), were awarded Highest Ranked Program Grant for their work to take a multi-faceted approach to combatting malaria. And Associate Professor Anne Voss, also from WEHI, was awarded the Elizabeth Blackburn Biomedical Fellowship for her work in cancer.

Finally, University of Melbourne Professor Melissa Little from the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute was given the Outstanding Contribution Award.

University of Melbourne Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Jim McCluskey said these awards reflect the world-class medical research expertise within the University.

“Congratulations to the winners, who are outstanding ambassadors for our institution. The NHMRC awards and recognition are among the most prestigious and sought-after in Australian medical research,” Professor McCluskey said.

Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, Professor Mark Hargreaves said the awards reflect the hard work and dedication of the University’s researcher community.

“They are testament to our scientific rigour, interdisciplinary and cross-institutional research.”

Minister for Health Sussan Ley said she was proud of Australia’s standing on the international research stage and that these awards recognised some of the leading Australian researchers. 

“Australia is a world leader in health and medical research and these researchers will no doubt continue to make a strong contribution to improving the health of all Australians,” Ms Ley said. “I congratulate the award winners and look forward to continuing to work closely with the research community to come up with the treatments of tomorrow, today.”

For the list of the University of Melbourne NHRMC annual research excellence awardees, see here.



Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email musse-editor@unimelb.edu.au