Distinguished past professors honoured with University awards

October 14 / 147

Members of the academic board with new Professors Emeritus and Melbourne Laureate Professors Emeritus.
Members of the academic board with new Professors Emeritus and Melbourne Laureate Professors Emeritus.

The Academic Board has awarded 19 former University academics with the title Professor Emeritus and Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus.

The awards recognise distinguished Professors who have retired or left the University after long service.

Vice-chancellor Professor Glyn Davis said the awardees’ sustained high distinction in research and scholarship had been accompanied by sustained excellence in a range of service and leadership roles within the University and in representing the University externally.

“Their contributions are acknowledged to have been beyond what would normally be expected of a Professor, and to have been of lasting benefit to our University,” he said.

“I thank these distinguished academic leaders for their most significant contributions to the University, and to knowledge.”

The awardees, in alphabetical order, are:

Professor Emeritus James Angus AO (Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences – Pharmacology)

Professor Emeritus Ian Beveridge (Veterinary Science)

Professor Emeritus Graham Brown AM (Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences – Nossal Institute for Global Health)

Professor Emeritus Robert Brown (Business and Economics – Finance)

Professor Emeritus Tony Coady (Arts – Philosophy)

Professor Emeritus Patricia Grimshaw (Arts - History)

Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus Andrew Holmes AM (Science – Chemistry)

Professor Emeritus Les Holmes (Arts – Political Science)

Professor Emeritus Henry Jackson (Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences – Behavioural 

Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus Stuart Macintyre AO (Arts – History)

Professor Emeritus Jock Macmillan (Veterinary Science)

Professor Peter McPhee AM (Arts – History)

Professor Emeritus Bruce Parry (Veterinary Science)

Professor Pip Pattison (Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences – Psychology)

Professor Emeritus Bruce Singh AM (Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences – Psychiatry)

Professor Emeritus Ron Slocombe (Veterinary Science)

Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus Rod Tucker OAM (Engineering – Electrical and Electronic Engineering)

Professor Emeritus Michael Webber (Land and Environment – Geography) 

Professor Emeritus Ian Williamson AM (Faculty of Engineering – Surveying and Land Information)

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email musse-editor@unimelb.edu.au