Endeavour Student Awards 2013

November 13 / 123

The Melbourne School of Engineering’s annual invention and design expo, Endeavour, culminated with the presentation of awards to the most outstanding student project teams across the engineering and IT departments.

The 2013 Endeavour awards were presented to students on Thursday 17 October at the Endeavour Industry and Awards night.

This year’s expo featured over 100 student designs, from a robotic teddy bear to disposable posture tape and new systems to reduce waste contamination in Antarctica.

Groups of primary and high school students visited the Endeavour Expo throughout the morning, with the public visiting in the afternoon.

Endeavour 2013 was sponsored by Intel, and featured a keynote address to students from leading IT industry figure and Intel Fellow, Ajay Bhatt, inventor of Universal Serial Bus (USB/Memory stick) technology.

Mr Bhatt told students that innovation could be a rocky road, but they had the opportunity to improve people’s quality of life around the world.

“Creativity needs a purpose,” he said.

“You need to make time for it and be persistent and patient; it is a lot of hard work.

“But when it succeeds it is a lot of fun and you forget how hard it was.”

The student teams demonstrated their projects to industry and alumni at the awards night. Endeavour Team Leader, Ms Katherine Tripos, said the industry night was a unique opportunity for students.

“The students have been working on their projects all year and I really think the amount of hours that have gone into it, and the long nights they've spent working on these amazing projects [this is a] really a good opportunity for them to show how hard they’ve been working and what their interests and passions are,” she said.

Student projects awarded on the night included:

The Outotec Sustainability Awards:

• Chemical – The Development of Permeable Reactive Barrier to Treat and Manage Contaminated Sites in Antarctica – Tom Statham

• Mechanical – BHP Billiton – Conveyor Mass Rejection System – Matthew Bourke and Lawrence Carr

• Electrical – Integration of Energy Storage in Distribution Grid – Asipol Anunta-Umporn, Guntapon Mahanonda and Yi Siang Ooi.

UoM and Griffith Hack Commercialisation Awards:

• FSAE Coordination – Ciaran Hudson, Lucy Shaw, Andrew Sparks

• Design, Build and Evaluation of an Industrial Crimping Tool – Andrew John, Nicholas Stait and James Whittem.

Biomedical Engineering Award:

• Brain Computer Interface Using Electroencephalography – Ewan Nurse and Phillippa Karoly.

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Award:

• Modelling the Leidenfrost Phenomena – Anna Bainbridge.

Computing and Information Systems Award:

• Agent Based Decision Support System – Erick Gaspar, Eman Alatawi, Pei Zhao, Hanlin Chen, Chi Wang, Yossef Mostafa, Mohamad Ilhamy Putra, Eman Bin Khunayn and Yingzi Zhang.

Electrical and Electronic Engineering Award:

• Bitcoin Smartcard – Samuel Foley.

Infrastructure Engineering Award:

• Effect of Catchment Routing and Snowmelt on Peak Streamflows – Matthew Scorah.

Mechanical Engineering Award:

• Multicopter – Payload – Damon Beckwith, Olivier Latorre and Walson Lawi.

Greta Harrison has more on the story: http://themelbourneengineer.eng.unimelb.edu.au/2013/10/student-invention....

Visions visited the exhibition: http://visions.unimelb.edu.au/endeavour2013.

Further information about the Endeavour Expo available at: www.endeavour.unimelb.edu.au/.

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email musse-editor@unimelb.edu.au