A clean sweep of victory: Melbourne rowers defeat Sydney

November 13 / 123

The University’s women’s and men’s rowing crews have triumphed over the University of Sydney at the Australian Boat Race.

In an historic win, the University men’s eights won by two boat lengths and the women’s team continued its winning streak with a comfortable victory of eight boat lengths.

University of Melbourne Vice-Chancellor Glyn Davis congratulated all teams involved.

“This is a spectacular event between Australia’s two oldest Universities. It is a rivalry that dates back to the 1860s and we’re delighted to have hosted Sydney on Melbourne’s iconic Yarra this year,” he said.

“I congratulate both Melbourne teams on a fantastic win, and look forward to the rivalry continuing in Sydney next year.

The two clubs went head-to-head on a 4.2 km course on the Yarra River, beginning at Loy’s paddock in Burnley and finishing at the Princes Bridge by Federation Square.

The teams included 10 Olympians, as well as world and national champions. The Melbourne teams boasted Olympic medalists Kim Crow, Cameron McKenzie-McHarg and world champion and two-time Olympian, James Marburg.

The Melbourne team also included other notable athletes, Alice McNamara and Phoebe Stanley. The Sydney team featured world championship representative Nick Hudson, award winning cox Will Raven, as well as other outstanding athletes including Fergus Pragnell, and Ellie Winstanley.

The Australian Boat Race is an annual event, held on the Yarra River and the Sydney Harbour on alternating years. The race dates back to 1860, when the two Universities first met on the Yarra. With its similar history, the competition mirrors the UK’s historic Oxford vs Cambridge boat race.

The race was reinstated in 2009 as a time trial and as a head-to-head event in 2010. 

More information: http://www.australianboatrace.com/.

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email musse-editor@unimelb.edu.au