Dental scientist Professor Eric Reynolds wins Leach Medal

March 15 / 153

Melbourne Laureate Professor Eric Reynolds AO, CEO of the Oral Health CRC at the University, has received the 2015 Leach Medal at the 40th Lorne Conference on Protein Structure and Function. 


The Leach Medal is presented annually in honour of the eminent biochemist Professor Syd Leach (1920-2005), in recognition of scientific excellence.


Professor Reynolds said he was extremely honoured to accept the award. He joins the list of past Leach Medal recipients including Elizabeth Blackburn, David de Krester, Don Metcalf and Colin Masters.


Established by Professor Syd Leach in 1976, the Lorne protein conference brings together biochemists from around the world. 


Winners of the Leach Medal present the annual Leach Lecture at the conference and this year Professor Reynolds discussed the journey of scientific discovery that has led to our understanding of the role of salivary phosphopeptides, bacterial proteasies and a new bacterial secretion system in oral health.


By Kerryn Garner

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email