Researchers honoured with NHMRC Research Excellence Awards

June 14 / 138

Three University researchers have received National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) prizes for being the highest ranked recipients of fellowships or program grants.

Electrophysiologist Professor Jonathan Kalman received the Highest ranked Practitioner Fellowship.

He will use his fellowship to help the NHMRC develop a better understanding of the causes and mechanisms of atrial fibrillation to develop improved methods of prevention and treatment of that condition.

Professor Michael Parker from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research was part of a team to receive the Highest ranked Program Grant.

Along with colleagues Professor Angel Lopez and Professor Timothy Hughes from the University of South Australia, he will seek to address the progression of leukaemia and relapse, identify new drug targets and develop new drugs for the treatment of leukaemia.

Research Fellow at the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Dr Kathryn Holt received the Career Development Fellowship – Biomedical, Level 1.

She will investigate how antibiotic resistance emerges and spreads, and how bacterial colonisations of the airways during childhood contribute to infections and the development of asthma.

Senior Associate Dean (Research) of the Faculty of the Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences Professor Arthur Shulkes congratulated the recipients on the award of NHMRC Excellence Awards.

“To receive funding from the NHMRC is in itself a recognition of excellent research,” he said.

“However, to be the top ranked recipient is an outstanding achievement and recognition of the quality of these researchers.

“The Faculty warmly congratulates our colleagues Jonathan Kalman, Michael Parker and Kat Holt.”

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email