Professional staff honoured in the 2014 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards

February 15 / 151

Image: Casamento Photography
Image: Casamento Photography

The dedication and excellence of professional staff has been recognised in the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Contribution by Professional Staff.

“The extraordinary efforts of professional staff members recognised through the 2014 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Contribution are warmly applauded,” said Vice-Chancellor Glyn Davis. “So also are the contributions of many other staff who were nominated. The breadth of nominations in 2014 highlights the high regard other colleagues have for professional staff and their many endeavours on the University’s behalf.”

Vice-Chancellor Davis particularly acknowledged the performance of staff given the circumstances of the past year.

“Despite much change, 2014 has seen exceptional work by professional colleagues across campus,” he said.

“At the close of a difficult year, the achievements of so many across campus are a stirring reminder of the calibre and commitment of professional staff at the University of Melbourne.”

After a competitive nominations process, five individual awards and two team awards were presented this year. Individual awards went to:

  • •    Andrew McAlinden (Manager, Strategic Resources, Infrastructure, Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning) for Outstanding Service and Client Focus
  • •    Jennifer Cocks (Senior HR Officer, Melbourne Law School) also for Outstanding Service and Client Focus
  • •    Judith Alcorn (Waste and Recycling Coordinator, Property and Campus Services) for Creating Connections and Contribution to Engagement
  • •    Jade Germantis (Manager, Spatial Data, Infrastructure Services, University Services) for “Excellence in Process Improvement,” and
  • •    Mary-Louise Huppatz (Manager, Planning and Operations, Architecture, Building and Planning) for Exceptional Leadership.

The 2014 team awards were presented to:

•    The organisers (nine staff members, representing several faculties and divisions) of the University’s inaugural Professional Staff Conference, held at the State Library of Victoria in September, for “Demonstration of Staff Values”:
o    Marie-Louise Huppatz
o    Fiona Lawry
o    Tim Kennedy
o    Liz Carter
o    Lina Pepe
o    Margaret Ruwoldt
o    Sally Newton
o    Anna Steer
o    Frank Hofheins; and

•    The data management and support team for the HILDA Survey (six staff members, from Melbourne Institute, Faculty of Business and Economics) for “Outstanding Service and Client Focus”:
o    Michelle Summerfield
o    Simon Freidin
o    Ning Li
o    Ninette Macalad
o    Laura Mundy
o    Victoria Lane.


Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email