Showcase celebrates Innovations and Excellence in Learning and Teaching

December 14 / 150

A big crowd attended the inaugural Innovations and Excellence in Learning and Teaching event at the new Melbourne School of Design last week.

The event featured more than 30 poster presentations by Learning and Teaching Initiative (LTI) grant holders, followed by the presentation of this year’s Awards for Excellence.

The Chancellor, Elizabeth Alexander, presented 10 awards in eight categories, including Indigenous education, higher degree supervision, and the design and development of new courses.

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Richard James said the quality in two of the categories, Outstanding Student Services and Outstanding Leadership of University Teaching, was so high that the selection committee opted to make two awards.

“It was fantastic to be able to celebrate and give formal recognition to all of the important work that these dedicated staff have put into learning and teaching at the University,” he said.

The posters showcased diverse contributions to student learning, ranging from the development of new apps to increase student engagement, to new tools and strategies for staff to provide feedback to students on their learning.

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Educational Innovation) Professor Gregor Kennedy said it was wonderful to see so many projects displaying the outstanding efforts of University staff.

The winners are:

- The Award for Excellence and Innovation in Indigenous Education: Professor Ian Williamson and Dr Michelle Evans, Melbourne Business School.

- The David White Award for teaching excellence in the fields of Science, Health, Agriculture and Veterinary Science: Associate Professor Michael Pyman, Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences.

- The Edward Brown Award for teaching excellence in the fields of Architecture, Engineering and Economics, Commerce and Business: Associate Professor Andrea O’Connor, Melbourne School of Engineering.

- The David Caro Award for Outstanding Research Higher Degree Supervision: Associate Professor Andrew Melatos, School of Physics, Faculty of Science

- The Patricia Grimshaw Award for Mentor Excellence: Professor Geoff Stevens, Melbourne School of Engineering

- The Norman Curry Award for Innovation and Excellence in Educational Programs: The FSAE Program Team, led by Dr Denny Oetomo, Melbourne School of Engineering

- The Gerry Baretto Award for Outstanding Student Services: the MBS @ Berkeley Student Centre Team, led by Stephen Collis, the Melbourne Business School, Faculty of Business and Economics, and the Science Student Centre Team, led by Belinda Day, Faculty of Science.

- The Award for Outstanding Leadership of University Teaching: Associate Professor Elizabeth Tudor, Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, and Professor Ian Malkin, Melbourne Law School.

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email