Redmond Barry Distinguished Professorships announced

August 16 / 185

Nine of the University’s most eminent scholars have been recognised with the award of the Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor title.

The Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor title, established in honour of Sir Redmond Barry’s contribution as founder of the University, recognises and rewards outstanding leaders within the University’s professoriate.  Existing professors within the University are nominated for having demonstrated either pre-eminence in research or creative activity, or pre-eminence in research and teaching, and will have also shown outstanding leadership in the University and the wider community. Nominations are considered by the University’s Distinguished Academic Awards Committee and approved by the Vice-Chancellor.

Congratulations to all of our recently awarded Redmond Barry Distinguished Professors:

* Professor Tim McNamara from the Faculty of Arts, a linguist and expert in language testing, language acquisition, and the connections between citizenship, identity and refugee issues

* Professor Karen (Etty) Jehn from the Faculty of Business and Economics, who is expert in organisational behaviour, with special expertise in conflict management and negotiation

* Research physiotherapist Professor Kim L Bennell from the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Sciences

* The Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Science’s Laureate Professor Leann Tilley, who researches the treatment, detection and control of malaria

* Professor Marcia Langton, from the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Sciences, who is one of Australia’s leading Aboriginal health and wellbeing experts, and a commentator on Indigenous issues

* Population health historian Professor Janet McCalman, from the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Sciences, who is engaged on a long-term study of Australia’s convict populations from the colonial era

* Professor Lyn Yates from the Melbourne Graduate School of Education who is an expert on Australian education policy and practice

* Geothermal energy, carbon capture and storage, energy systems and geological researcher Professor Mike Sandiford from the Faculty of Science

* Composer and Dean of the Faculty of Victorian College of Arts & Melbourne Conservatorium, Professor Barry Conyngham.

More information click here or email Simon Purtell in the Provost’s department.


Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email