2015 Awards for Excellence for staff announced

April 15 / 156


The exceptional contributions of staff to the quality of the Melbourne experience for students – through teaching, research higher degree supervision, support and mentoring – has been recognised in the 2015 University of Melbourne Awards for Excellence.

The winners of the award include:


Dr Andrew Jamieson, School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, Faculty of Arts - Barbara Falk Award for Teaching Excellence


Assoc. Professor Gelsomina Borromeo, Melbourne Dental School, Faculty of MDHS - David White Award for Teaching Excellence


Dr Dominique Hes, Melbourne School of Design, Faculty of ABP - Edward Brown Award for Teaching Excellence


Professor Tim McCormack, Melbourne Law School - Award for Outstanding Research Higher Degree Supervision


Melbourne Dental School's Indigenous Oral Health Placement (project lead, Assoc. Professor Menaka Abuzar), Faculty of MDHS - Award for Excellence and Innovation in Indigenous Higher Education


Assoc. Professor Lesley Stirling, School of Languages and Linguistics, Faculty of Arts - Patricia Grimshaw Award for Mentor Excellence


Commerce Student Centre (lead applicant, Ms Francesca Pecoraro), Faculty of Business and Economics - Gerry Barretto Award for Outstanding Student Services


Dr Stanislav Roudavski, Melbourne School of Design, Faculty of ABP - Norman Curry Award for Innovation and Excellence in Educational Programs


The awards are administered by the Centre for the Study of Higher Education and more information on the awards can be found here.

Editorial Enquiries

Got a story?

Staff are encouraged to submit stories. There are some important steps in preparing a media-ready story.  Email musse-editor@unimelb.edu.au